top of page
Search
Writer's picturelucab12

Photo #1, 1976


Ken Voss of the Illinois Entertainer was kind enough to send me this ad for the 5/20/76 show at Haymakers. The photo itself was taken by Marshall "Candy" Mintz. It was used quite a bit during that time with the "Adamany & Toler" inscription on the bottom right corner. Unfortunately, I was unable to use the ad since it wasn't possible to get formal permission. However, I was able to use the Thirsty Whale ad from 4/11/76. Barbara Weigand drew the ad and also some Camel's Hump from that year with Cheap Trick dates noted. You can see that the illustration doesn't include the stuffed bunny on Bun E's vest. Rick wore that Coke bottle sweater quite a bit that year.

When I started my book, I had no idea that Brian Kramp had already written This Band Has No Past. In fact, I only discovered it while perusing Jawbone Press' website. I was writing my proposal at that point and my book was going to be mainly about Budokan. In retrospect, I think it was a blessing that Brian's book came out since it was completely different in scope and style than mine. The Midwestern bar days are essential in understanding Cheap Trick.

Brian did a great job of discussing Marshall Mintz and included the original photo on his blog that accompanied the book.

I will be posting all the photos from American Standard on line. I know they lose a little something being in a paperback book, but I certainly couldn't have done anything about it. Unlike my first book, this required releases for all the photos, interviews, etc. I also learned how much photographers had to deal with while their work was published everywhere in the '70s. There were plenty of photos I wanted to use that I couldn't get the rights to and some that I didn't end up using when the book went from being a 50-year biography to one about '75-'80. Check back here in a week and I'll post another one of the photos I did use. The book comes out officially next week, but I still have a handful to sign and send for those who have asked.

RLW

9 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page